Key Stage 4 - Curriculum and External Accreditation


In KS4 all students are placed in tutor groups with students of similar abilities. They are all taught the core curriculum by their class tutor.


The statutory requirements at Key Stage 4 are:






Physical Education

Religious Education

Sex and Relationship Education (SRE)


The Arts (comprising Art and Design, Music, Dance, Drama and Media Arts), Design and Technology, the Humanities (comprising Geography and History) and Modern Foreign Language are not compulsory National Curriculum subjects after the age of 14, but all pupils in maintained schools have a statutory entitlement to be able to study a subject in each of those 4 areas. At Foreland Fields School we broaden our curriculum offer as all students have the opportunity to study all of these subjects within their tutor group or through Arts and Enrichment options. These subjects are not class based which give the students the experience of working with different groups and different environments.


At Foreland Fields School all students have the opportunity to choose an Arts Award option leading to a Bronze or Discovery Arts Award.


External Accreditation at KS4 is done through the ASDAN Transition Challenge Programme.


Transition Challenge offers a learner-centred, activity-based curriculum that can be undertaken with as much support as necessary. It has been developed for learners aged 14–16 with SEND. It can also be used to support the delivery of the Entry 1 qualifications in Personal Progress as students move on into the 6th Form.


At the end of Key Stage 4 the majority of pupils move into the Foreland Fields Sixth Form.


One Key Stage 4 class is based off-site at our Inclusion Class at Hartsdown Academy for three days each week. During this time they all have the opportunity to attend mainstream lessons with support.


Term Dates
Headteacher Welcome